Thoughts on Africa

Africa… what a journey. There were moments of love, moments of fun, moments of sadness, moments of contemplation, and moments of thankfulness. The two thoughts that best describe the trip are EYE-OPENING and HEART- BREAKING.

It was eye-opening for me to be in a new country and a new culture. I was in such a bubble in America, so comfortable. God definitely popped my bubble in Africa and I now realize that my uncomfortable state was meant for stretching and growth. My eyes are now opened in such an awesome way. They were opened to cultures, different ways of life, brokenness, poverty, religion, relationships, and much more. I now look at America in such a new and fresh way. And to be honest with you, I am trying not to look at America with disdain. We are so blessed here and all Americans want is MORE (including myself). If only we could all count our blessings and be thankful for the little things that God has given us. It’s a journey and I plan to remind myself often of the blessings in life.

I was also heart-broken as I set my eyes on brokenness and poverty like I have never seen before. They poverty in Africa is so different then here in California. Our poorest person here in Cali would be rich in Africa. But what is so amazing about the African people is that they have JOY, despite their brokenness. Their joy is uncontainable and so beautiful. Again, they are thankful for the little things. They worship God simply because they love God. I want that joy. I want to worship God simply because I love God. I loved worshipping with the Africans. They dance. They sing so loud. They are so exuberant and expressive. They worship God with passion and life and JOY. I am so thankful that I got to be a part of their worship and I hope to never forget the moments I had there.

May we all count our blessings and be thankful for the little things. And may we all worship God simply because we love God. True JOY.

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Africa

  1. Ashley we loved worshiping with you. Thank you for coming to Africa, to South Africa you are a blessing and we do see how you love your Lord in your worship, you shine when you sing His praises, when you worship Him. Bless you as you continue. Remember your promise to come back with a worship “team”. We are waiting.

Leave a Reply

