Uncomfortably Comfortable

My entire life has seemed to be uncomfortably comfortable, especially since I have decided to follow God’s will for my life. But I have come to realize that being uncomfortable is not that bad.

Many of you may not know, but I hate being in front of people. And I think it is hilarious that God has called me to be in front of thousands of people every weekend, leading worship. Not only do I not like being in front of people, but singing and especially talking in front of people makes me a bit sick to my stomach. When God started to take me on this journey of worship leading, I argued a bit. I did not want to be put in uncomfortable positions. I did not want to get knots in my stomach every time I thought about what I had to do that week. But God was persistant. He kept opening up doors for me to be in front of people, and lead worship. Why God? Why me? I am inconsistant and scared and insecure. I am not the one you want, God. But more doors would open. And every time I would walk through a door, it would get a bit easier and a little less scary. Putting myself in uncomfortable positions was growing me into the woman God wanted me to be. And God kept giving me more and more uncomfortable moments to be a part of.

Yes, it got easier. But that does not mean that I am comfortable now. Every time I have been stretched, I have grown. But every time I have grown, God has given me another moment to stretch. And so on. I don’t think it will ever end, but ultimately I know God will not give me something I cannot handle. He is shaping and molding me into the woman he has called me to be. I just have to keep walking through the open doors and allow the potter to do his thing.

Isaiah 64:8 “Yet you, Lord, are our Father. We are the clay, you are the potter; we are all the work of your hand.”

Leave a Reply

