Today, I Am Thankful

Today I Am Thankful

Too many times in life, I start my day off with a sour taste in my mouth… I am filled with negativity and un-thankfulness. I have been dealing with this the last few days and I really think it is the Devil trying to steal my joy. God has blessed me with so many things in life… an amazing husband, a dream job, a home, friends and family that love me, the cutest dog in the world… and the list goes on. So why do I get so down? Why do I allow little things to bring me to the bottom of my emotions? Why can’t I just focus on the positive and good?

Thankfully this week, I am doing a study on thankfulness. And it has really been a wake up call for me in several areas of my life. This was the scripture I read today:

Colossians 3:15-17   “Let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, since as members of one body you were called to peace. And be thankful. Let the message of Christ dwell among you richly as you teach and admonish one another with all wisdom through psalms, hymns, and songs from the Spirit, singing to God with gratitude in your hearts. And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.”

Thank you Jesus for this reminder. I truly want to do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God through it all. And whatever may be thrown my way, good or bad, I choose to be thankful. So instead of waking up with negative thoughts in my mind, I choose to wake up knowing that God has it under control. And despite my tendency to focus on the one negative thought, I choose to focus on the many amazing things God has blessed me with in my life. Because if I had to make a list of both sides, the good would for sure outweigh the bad!! So why am I even complaining?!

Today I choose to be thankful.

-Ashley

Leave a Reply

