Time For Silence

Noise

Life can be chaotic. Life can be noisy. But my question for you today is… are you making enough time for silence? I know for me, the answer is no. I feel so bombarded by life sometimes… husband… work… family… friends… parties… TV… radio… music… rehearsals… I could go on. I don’t even have kids yet, but I feel swamped.

This week has been a bit crazier than normal as we prepare for Good Friday and Easter services. Easter has been called the superbowl of church services, and it definitely feels like that. There is a lot of hype and excitement and prayer and planning going into this weekend. But with a Super Bowl comes much to do and prepare for. This “Holy Week”, as they call it, is starting to get bombarded with the tasks instead of the reflection. It is moving towards noisiness and not enough silence. So….

TIME FOR SILENCE.

T. S. Eliot wrote, “Where shall the world be found? Where will the word resound? Not here. There is not enough silence.” If the Word of God and the true story of Easter is going to resound in your heart this week, you are not going to find it in all the noise. So my encouragement for you (and me) is to be intentional with your time. During this Holy Week, find at least 5 minutes every day to spend in silence with the Lord. Let the silence speak to you and renew your soul.

I would say now is a good time to start… ready… go!

Leave a Reply

