Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

Oceans

We are introducing a new song to our Sunday night services this week. All of you avid Hillsong United followers will know and love this song already. It is called Oceans (Where Feet May Fail). It is a beautiful and breath-taking song. Not only is the music a masterpiece, but the lyrics paint a vivid picture of the way Peter felt when he walked on water. Here is the story if you do not know it…

Matthew 14:25-33

25 And in the fourth watch of the night he came to them, walking on the sea. 26 But when the disciples saw him walking on the sea, they were terrified, and said, “It is a ghost!” and they cried out in fear. 27 But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Take heart; it is I. Do not be afraid.”  28 And Peter answered him, “Lord, if it is you, command me to come to you on the water.”29 He said, “Come.” So Peter got out of the boat and walked on the water and came to Jesus. 30 But when he saw the wind, he was afraid, and beginning to sink he cried out, “Lord, save me.” 31 Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” 32 And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased. 33 And those in the boat worshiped him, saying, “Truly you are the Son of God.”

There are a couple things I get from this story. The first is that Peter had the faith and trust in God to walk out on the water… WOW. That is scary and intimidating and unknown. And of course he walked out into a storm. It was windy and the waves were coming from all directions, but he still decided to take a step of faith trusting that God was going to guide his steps. I felt like this last year when I was preparing to go on my missions trip to Africa. I felt like I was walking into something scary, intimidating, and unknown. So I had to trust God with all my heart and know that He was going to take care of me along the way. Are you taking a step of faith towards God’s will for your life? Are you trusting him as you walk on the uneven water?

The second thing I get from this story is that when Peter walked amongst the waves and the wind, for a split second, he lost sight of Jesus. He lost sight of the one who was keeping him above the waves, and that is the moment he started sinking. But as soon as Jesus came back into Peter’s vision, Peter was lifted to the place of calm and security again. Are you keeping your eyes on Jesus? Are you keeping your gaze above the waves? If this is true in your life, then your persective should be shifted. You are no longer focused on the scary-intimidating-unknown around you, but you are focused on the firm foundation of Jesus Christ.

Put yourself in Peter’s situation… ask yourself some hard questions… and take a listen to this song…

OCEANS (WHERE FEET MAY FAIL)

 

4 thoughts on “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)

  1. I recently went to a retreat for Confirmation 2, and one of the speakers introduced us to this song. Her speech was touching to the heart, and this song cut in even deeper. When I searched up the meaning for this song, your blog came up, and you offered the best evaluation on the song. It really opened up my mind, because throughout my life, I have always been too preoccupied with school to focus on God, so I did not even know about Peter’s story! Thank you so much for writing this (even though I was a year late on seeing it!). I can definitely see God in your heart from all of your posts!
    -Dorothy
    P.S. I You-tubed you and you’re a wonderful singer! 🙂

  2. hi ashleybeckford!:)
    i just happen to look up on the meaning of the lyrics of the song, and as what the person above said, you’re on top of the list in google:)
    anyways, my number one problem ever since i got back to being a christian at heart and receiving Christ again is having faith in Him.
    I have stumbled a lot during my teens, the first on the list was because of peer pressure, eventually that was the reason that i was walking away from Him. When i was on my senior year in college, i realized that i was living in the world. Vices here and there, cursing 24/7. I got distracted on what was in the world, that was why i stumbled. Thankfully, my mom’s friend invited us to go to their church’s anniversary event. Then i went with my mom, it took me a year to constantly attend church and on a random “boring”( i used to think it was) fellowship, i felt that my heart was about to burst, there and then i just knelt down and wept like there’s no tomorrow.
    Anyways, that happened 2 years ago, and for these past 2 years, i have been in a lot of situations that i was about to stumble, yet He would always catch me when i’m about to fall.

    Just wanted to encourage you to keep on doing what He is instructing you to do:)
    I am so blessed today by reading this blog. I thank God that even this was made 2 years ago, yet it has and still will bless many.

    God bless!:)
    (sorry for making a very long comment o.O)

Leave a Reply

