Dependance On God


I just started Oswald Chambers’ book, My Utmost For His Highest. It is an amazing devotional that I have heard so much about over the years, but have never had the opportunity to read. So far, it has lived up to all the hype. It is an inspirational and life-changing read that has re-focused my mind towards Jesus. My reading yesterday was called: “Will You Go Out Without Knowing?”  It is inspired from Hebrews 11:8

“By faith Abraham, when called to go to a place he would later receive as his inheritance, obeyed and went, even though he did not know where he was going.”

…Even though he did not know where he was going!! That is crazy. Abraham had so much faith and trust in God. He started walking even though he didn’t know where in the world he was going. Oswald Chambers writes, “You do not know what you are going to do; the only thing you know is that God knows what He is doing.” We have to trust that God knows what he is doing. And it is in those moments that he is able to stretch us and grow our faith in Him.

Last year, I had 2 major events happen in my life that helped me to grow in my trust and faith in God: I made my own worship album and I traveled to Africa. When I initially felt called to do both of these things, I was in the dark. I had no idea what was going to happen or how it was going to happen. All I knew was that God knew what He was doing. And I had to trust in Him and take each step at the time. Now looking back at last year’s journey, I can truly say that God had a amazing plan for me and knew exactly what he wanted to do through me. What if I had not said YES to God’s calling? Where would I be now? Maybe somewhere not as fulfilling as here. Maybe I wouldn’t have as much faith and trust in God as I do now.

Chambers writes, “Let the attitude of the life be a continual ‘going out’ in dependence upon God.” Are you depending on God? Dependance on God can put us in such a place of wonder… wondering what God is going to do next… wondering how God is going to provide finances for the situation… wondering when God will reveal the answer… wondering how you are going to get from here to there. It is in those moments of wonder that God reveals who He is.  Chambers asks, “Do you believe in a miracle-working God, and will you go out in surrender to Him until you are not surprised an atom at anything He does?” Let’s believe and trust in our God to do great things even if we have no idea where He is taking us. And let’s grow closer to Him through the beautiful journey.

Leave a Reply

