“The Vow” Challenge

For those of you that don’t know, I am on staff at Christ’s Church of the Valley as one of the weekend worship leaders. I love my job and I love my church. I feel so blessed to be a part of what God is doing in the life of our church, and I love seeing how God has been moving in the lives of our people. However, this particular post is not to tell a story about someone else within our church… it is to share what God has been doing in my life through this season of ministry. I thank God for my church and the way that the leadership is stretching me in my walk with God.

Our pastor, Jeff Vines, recently challenged us to take a Nazarite Vow. This is a challenge taken from the Old Testament (Numbers) and brought into our current context. It is similar to a fast… where you are giving something up that is very dear to you, and in the midst of this fast you are pleading with God to help remove a sin in your life. (To see the entire sermon, CLICK HERE) In summary, the vow comes with 3 challenges:

20130801-115937.jpgAs I prayed through this, I realized that there were some specific sins and issues in my life that I needed God to deal with. I am going to keep those between me and God right now, but these issues have been eating away at me lately. So I came to a point where I needed God’s help. And to show Him how serious I was about getting rid of these sins, I decided to take part in The Vow with our church. Since I started this fast, God has been working on me and my heart in a huge way.

For the first challenge, I decided to get rid of TV completely. For those of you that know me, I love my shows on Netflix and watching TV is a way for me to decompress from the day. I am refueled when I get the chance to curl up on my couch and watch the latest episode of whatever show I am into that day. TV has become my “thing to do” when I have nothing else to do. So giving up TV has definitely been a huge challenge for me. I have had to learn to fill my time with other things… such as time with God, time with family/friends, reading, songwriting, etc. I have had to ask God to give me rest in other ways, because the main challenge has been finding the same rest that I find in TV. But amazingly enough, God has been teaching me how to find rest in Him, and rest in other things. Now I am not going to lie, after a month into this, I am not looking forward to not having TV for two more months! But I know that God is going to teach me so much in my time of sacrifice and fasting. And every time that I have the urge to watch TV, I am reminded to pray through my sins and refocus on God. Lord help me though! Haha!

Wherever you are in your walk with God, I challenge you to listen to the sermon from my Pastor (link above) and take The Vow. We all have something that we need to work on, but how serious are you about getting rid of that issue in your life? We have a God who can help us through anything and deliver us from the chains of sin, so why not plead with Him to help? I challenge you to get serious about your sin, because freedom awaits us on the other side.

Leave a Reply

