Soul-Inspired Songwriting

songwriting

I have come to find out that I have several styles of songwriting:

  1. Lyric/Scripture inspired
  2. Soul inspired
  3. Melody inspired

I tend to hover the most on 1 and 2 in my writing style. Every once in a while, I will find a sweet melody and put lyric to it. But most of all, I love when I am soul inspired. What I mean by that is that my soul is going through something so deep that it comes out in my writing. My personal journey is what inspires the song. These songs always tend to be the ones that minister to me the most. And not that the others don’t, but when I write from the soul it is birthed from deep within and then sticks deep within.

God has been working on me the past few months (as explained in my previous post) and it has been really hard… I mean really hard, to the point of breaking. I have come to realize that sometimes God needs to break you in order to rebuild you the way you are supposed to be. So as I was sitting at the piano the other night, a soul-inspired song was born. It came out of this really hard season of life and has proven to be my anthem for the past few days. I have come to realize that God inspires certain songs for the simple encouragement to my own soul. It is in those moments that I see how my songwriting and inspiration can in turn inspire me. I love that God does that.

So I share these lyrics, even though they might not be the final lyrics, praying that maybe the words will meet your soul where you are at today:

You are always with me, in the valley or the hills
With me in the highs and lows, my soul, all is well

All is well in the suffering
All is well in the blessing

All is well, All is well

You are always near Lord, in the darkness or the light
With me in the calm and storm, my soul, all is well

He loves me, yes, He loves me
I’ll never be afraid

Leave a Reply

